Day: May 15, 2012

Dallas Morning News Ranger Prospect Update

This has only started the last year or so and I love it. Some coverage of our highly touted minor league system. Leonys Martin will probably be the only one we see this season but I am very excited about our kids. Don’t get too attached to all of them though. But the adage “trust in Nolan and J.D.” means I feel confident that if we lose any of them, I doubt it would be for short term help. I have to wonder out loud how we are going to make Jurickson Profar work with “Kindrus” as they were called on Twitter the other day already in place.

I might remind you that for the first time in our history, we won at all levels last season. That certainly adds to their readiness in the future.

Photos: Minor league report – a look at how 12 of the Rangers best prospects fared this week | Texas Rangers News – Sports News for Dallas, Texas – SportsDayDFW.

Something New for the Rangers

Tonight wasn’t pleasant. We played a team that frankly, isn’t that good. I hate losing those games the most. We made Bruce Chen look like Cliff Lee. Chen is the best KC starter so far this season. His ERA was 4.83 before the game tonight. Not All Star material. Wash chose to sit Mike Napoli and Ian Kinsler which I get. We don’t get an off-day until next Thursday and we have four with a division foe starting Thursday. Here’s what is new for the Rangers. Teams get up to play us. It comes with the territory of being two-time defending AL champs. It also comes with being one of the hottest teams in baseball. I’m sure the guys know this. Right? Tomorrow we face the famous “Undecided”. Colby Lewis on the hill for the Rangers. The Royals have a couple of guys who can take you deep and Colby has shown a willingness to help those kinds of guys out. I hope he figured out what to do and what is causing more than normal long balls. Colby was already above normal that way. There used to be some spots you could put it on cruise control, but now that just isn’t going to happen very much. I hope it’s a lesson learned.  Before the season is over we will face more Bruce Chens than Cliff Lees.