Finding Perspective…Bracing for the Angels

I don’t want to get into the nuts and bolts numbers of the series which starts tonight in Anaheim. Good lord, they’re EVERYWHERE. Here’s the bottom line for me. I hate the Angels. As much, if not more, than the Yankees. It runs deep. My post before the first time these two met this year was a long time ago. I hated them then. When Bobby Grich attempted to muscle Wayne Tolleson, I was there and I was angry.

When Mike Napoli was an Angel, I seriously did not like him. He did damage to the Rangers on a regular basis. I have to say that last year, when he hit home run #30 and made eye contact with Mike Scoscia rounding third, certainly makes my highlight real for the year. But my dislike for the Angels also carries quite a bit of respect.  When we were clawing our way back to respect they beat us early and often. When we would manage to scratch out a lead, they would always find a way to come back. That has as much to do with their manager as with any particular players.

While I am nervous about where we are right now, knowing that even if we are swept, we will remain in first place, helps a little.  I am most anxious to get back on the field and release whatever demons got into us the previous two games. Bottom line? There will be 108 games left to play when we leave Orange County.

Leave a comment