That Sinking Feeling When….

When your team totally falls apart in one game. You can’t get a clutch hit. You can’t make the play you need to make in the field. Your bullpen walks too many. You can’t get that last out. You walk the leadoff guy. Worst of all, it’s against a team you KNOW you are better than. Then as I write this, the team that was in the cellar two weeks ago is in the process of moving to within 5 1/2 games with a huge series this weekend.  And they are doing it against a good team. On what should have been a night that was a bit festive, instead it was a disaster.

Yes I know the game goes in cycles. I get that. But we had a four game win streak that we blew up all by ourselves.

I knew the Angels wouldn’t stink all season. The same goes for Albert Pujols. But I didn’t expect them to close this fast and this soon. Who knows, maybe we were caught off-guard. I doubt that though. These guys seem to be all about the business at hand. Knowing that should make me feel better about tonight. But when every facet of your game (sans base running) is blown up like it was tonight, against a team you are so much better than, it’s more than disheartening.

When it came to the Angels today, I truly believe we got a win with Roy Oswalt. I have no idea how well he will do.  But I know I do not want the Angels to have him. After Jered Weaver went out with a back injury last night, I have nothing buzz wise to back this up, but I think that injury drove us to get this deal done.

Derek Holland on the mound tomorrow against Blake Beavan from beautiful Irving, TX. Beavan is, of course,  a former Ranger prospect.  Pitching close to home, he’ll have something to prove.  Let’s kick some butt, take the series and take that into Anaheim Friday night.

Leave a comment